Skip to content

Suspension of Youth Mobility Scheme route for Japanese nationals for 2010

Entry to the United Kingdom under the points-based system Youth Mobility Scheme is based on a quota system for participating countries, rotating annually.  Currently the countries participating in the scheme are Australia, Canada, Japan and New Zealand.

However, the maxiumum issuing level for Japanese nationals for the period ending 31 December 2010 has been reached and so with immediate effect, new applications for Japanese nationals will no longer be accepted for this year.  Japanese applicants may next apply from 1 January 2011. 

Nationals of Australia, Canada and New Zealand may continue to apply throughout 2010 unless advised at a later date.