Skip to content

Points-based system: youth mobility scheme: Japanese nationals

Entry to the United Kingdom under the points-based system youth mobility scheme is based on a quota system for participating countries, rotating annually. Currently the countries participating in the scheme are Australia, Canada, Japan and New Zealand.

However, the issuing level set for Japanese nationals for the period ending 31 December 2009 has now been reached and so with immediate effect, applications will no longer be accepted for this year. Japanese applicants may next apply from 1 January 2010.

Nationals of Australia, Canada and New Zealand may continue to apply throughout 2009.